

# SHIPLAKE COLLEGE

HENLEY-ON-THAMES

SPEECH DAY AND
PRIZE GIVING
2022

Guest Speaker

Jaco Van Gass MBE

Wednesday 29 June 2022



Jaco Van Gass MBE

## **PROGRAMME**

## **Chairman of Governors**

Sir David Tanner CBE

## Headmaster

Tyrone Howe

# Presentation of Prizes announced by the Deputy Head (Academic)

Paul Jones

## **Heads of College**

Casey Green and Jai Angell

## **Guest Speaker**

Jaco Van Gass MBE

## **Deputy Heads of College**

Billy Fundell and Sophie Murray

### **FORM PRIZES**

Year 7 James Martin Luka Suyatin

Year 8 Zac Fisher Will Griffith

Year 9 Freddie McCalley Will Tavinor

Year 10 Joshua Dawn Rufus Goggins

Year 12 Jamie King Joseph Rogers

### **GCSE PRIZES**

Art and Design Monty Walker

Business Oliver Joiner

Computing Studies Monty Wallace

Theology and Philosophy Monty Wallace

Creative iMedia Kai Askey

Design and Technology Ben Brooks

Drama Noah Scotchbrook

English Ben Watkins

French Ben Zacharias

Science Ben Zacharias

Further Mathematics Leo Guo

Music Leo Guo

Geography Alec Veitch

History Edward Houghton

Psychology Edward Houghton

Mathematics Silas Lee

Physical Education Archie Esslemont

Science (Dual Award) Alex Tang

Spanish Oliver Barron-Johnston

GCSE RESULTS PRIZE (2021) Matthew Grundy

**Jamie King** 

### **GOVERNORS' PRIZES**

Art and Design Alex Rowe

Biology Sam Waller

Further Mathematics Sam Waller

Business William Taylor

ICT William Taylor

Chemistry Matthew Johnston

Mathematics Matthew Johnston

Criminology Charlie Bradbury

Design and Technology Freddie Fisher

Drama Alex Taylor-McDowall

Economics Jake Birch

Physics Jake Birch

English Abi McCarthy

Extended Project Qualification Abi McCarthy

Spanish Abi McCarthy

Geography Emily Lambert

Psychology Emily Lambert

History Edward Dallas

Media Sophie Murray

Sociology Sophie Murray

Music Johnny Miller

Photography Merry Oakes

Physical Education Tom Houghton

Politics Jai Angell

Sport Wallace Fisher

Theology and Philosophy Georgina Garner

SIXTH FORM PRIZE (2021) Beatrix May

Anna-May Knight Laura Pasmore SPECIAL AWARDS

Vincent Chen Asclepian Award

For achievement in the visual arts

For contribution to the life of the Lower School

Darwin Award Will Griffith

**Davies Award** Jai Angell

For contribution to the sporting life of the college Jed Blacknell

Georgina Garner Merry Oakes Mia Vickerman

Charlie Watkins Eaton Award Pearse Welsh For academic development

Matthew Grundy Exemplum Docet Award For academic endeavour beyond the classroom

Max Dag

J W Whittington Award For the CCF cadet of the year

Billy Fundell Larkin Award

For contribution to singing

Jed Blacknell Lashbrook Award

For service to the community

Margaret Wells-Furby Award Matthew Grundy

For achievement in Science (Year 12)

Rupert Mackay Award Jed Blacknell For contribution to religious life Abi McCarthy

Salmon Award Sam Bourke

For contribution to the performing arts

Shiplake Seven Gold Award Sebastian Crehan-Mills

Elliot Jones For personal demonstration of the Shiplake Seven

Johnny Miller Spiers Award

For contribution to College music

Jake Birch **Trotter Award** 

For international sports representation Freddie Middleton

Martha Berry Wagner Award

Fred Fox For endeavour shown in College expeditions

Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award Harry Batchelor

> **Emily Lambert** Harry Stokes

### SENIOR COMMON ROOM PRIZES

Voted for by the teachers of the Senior Common Room

Edinburgh Prize Georgina Garner

For the non-school prefect who has contributed most to the life of the College

Matthew Bevin Prize Monty Walker

For the most industrious Year 11 pupil

Peter Caston Prize Mia Vickerman

For the pupil who has shown notable determination and tenacity during the course of their College career

### **HEADMASTER'S AWARDS**

Headmaster's Award Sam Bourke
For contribution to the life of the college Billy Fundell

**Emily Lambert** 

Spirit of Shiplake Award

For upholding the core values of the school

Gus Elliott

#### Alexander Everett Award

For leadership in the College

Felix Arkle Gus Elliott Henry Kunzig Tom Stuart Gesa Hallmann Eva Harris Emily Lambert Issy Hepburn Abi McCarthy Merry Oakes Milly Short James Braun Greg Dowden Johnny Miller Harry Batchelor Sam Bourke Will Taylor Tom Houghton

Deputy Heads of College Billy Fundell

Sophie Murray

Heads of College Jai Angell

Casey Green







Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, RG9 4BW www.shiplake.org.uk