

SHIPLAKE COLLEGE

HENLEY-ON-THAMES

SPEECH DAY AND
PRIZE GIVING
2023

Guest Speaker Nick English

Wednesday 28 June 2023



Nick English, Co-Founder of Bremont Watches

PROGRAMME

Chairman of Governors

Sir David Tanner, CBE

Headmaster

Tyrone Howe

Presentation of Prizes announced by the Deputy Headmaster

Paul Jones

Heads of College

Samuel Edwards and P Kay

Guest Speaker

Nick English

Deputy Heads of College

Matthew Grundy and Esme Young

FORM PRIZES

Year 7 George Dallas

Danny Petrov

Year 8 Luke Leamon

James Weeks

Year 9 William Griffith

Charles Scott

Year 10 George Blumfield

James Man

Year 12 Emily Over

Isobel Young

SHIPLAKE 7 PRIZES

Year 7 Oscar Owens

Danny Petrov

Year 8 Alexander Bowater-Rubio

James Martin

Year 9 Zachary Fisher

Matthew Perry

Year 10 Gilbert Demery

Elliot Jones

GCSE PRIZES

Art and Design

Business Samuel Bailey

Science Samuel Bailey

Computing Studies Joshua Dawn

English Joshua Dawn

Further Mathematics Joshua Dawn

Creative iMedia Leo Slowikowski

Design and Technology R Goggins

Drama James Bizior

History James Bizior

Theology and Philosophy James Bizior

French Albert Wooster

Geography Crosby Burnett

Mathematics Liam Cawdell

Music Jonathan Kowal

Science (Dual Award)

Jonathan Kowal

Spanish Jonathan Kowal

Physical Education Henry Benton

Psychology James Coe

GCSE RESULTS PRIZE (2022) Montgomery Walker

Benjamin Zacharias

GOVERNORS' PRIZES

Art and Design Freddie Carlsson

Biology Matthew Grundy

Business Zachary Morrison

Theology and Philosophy Zachary Morrison

Chemistry Sylvan Verzone

Computer Science Nikita Saitov

Criminology Henry Doyle

Design and Technology Alexander Subramanian

Drama Esme Young

Economics Joseph Rogers

English James King

Extended Project Qualification James King

History James King

French Jessica Weir

Further Mathematics Martha Berry

Geography Martha Berry

Physics Martha Berry

Mathematics Richard Wang

Media P Kay

Music Fergus Heggie

Photography E Humphris

Physical Education Hannah Boddy

Psychology Annabelle Townsend

Sociology Saffron Goggins

Spanish Dulcie Atherton Bebbington

Sport Matilda Firth

SIXTH FORM PRIZE (2022) Jake Birch

Georgina Garner Abigail McCarthy Samuel Waller

SPECIAL AWARDS

Asclepian Award

For achievement in the visual arts

Freddie Carlsson

Darwin Award

For contribution to the life of the Lower School

James Martin

Davies Award

For contribution to the sporting life of the college

Fred Fox

Matilda Firth

Joseph Rogers

Eaton Award

For academic development

George Watson

Exemplum Docet Award

For academic endeavour beyond the classroom

Elliot Jones

Toby Vivian

J W Whittington Award

For the CCF cadet of the year

Alexander Subramanian

Lashbrook Award

For service to the community

Aaron Coleman

Margaret Wells-Furby Award

For achievement in Science (Year 12)

Jack Duggan

Rupert Mackay Award

For contribution to religious life

H Harper

Salmon Award

For contribution to the performing arts

William Tyler

Spiers Award

For contribution to College music

Richard Wang

Trotter Award

For international sports representation

Edward Floyd

Frederick Middleton

Charles Moss Jessica Weir

Wagner Award

For endeavour shown in College expeditions

Montgomery Walker

Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award Martha Berry

Matilda Firth

Fred Fox

Charlotte Garnett

James King

Robyn Pendlebury Pippa Sanderson

SENIOR COMMON ROOM PRIZES

Voted for by the teachers of the Senior Common Room

Edinburgh Prize Gregor Jones

For the non-school prefect who has contributed most

to the life of the College

Matthew Bevin Prize Jonathan Kowal

For the most industrious Year 11 pupil

Peter Caston Prize Nikita Saitov

For the pupil who has shown notable determination and tenacity during the course of their College career

HEADMASTER'S AWARDS

Headmaster's Award Lewis O'Donoghue

For contribution to the life of the College Esme Young

Spirit of Shiplake Award Martha Berry

For upholding the core values of the College Tom Madden Richard Wang

Alexander Everett Award

For leadership in the College

Roisin Allen Lewis O'Donoghue

Martha Berry Rudi O'Keeffe
Jett Dyason Sylvan Verzone
Fred Fox Richard Wang
James King Isobel Wood
Thomas Madden Phoebe Young

Deputy Heads of College Matthew Grundy

Esme Young

Heads of College Samuel Edwards

P Kay