

SHIPLAKE COLLEGE

HENLEY-ON-THAMES

SPEECH DAY AND
PRIZE GIVING
2024

Guest Speaker
Gail Emms MBE

Wednesday 3 July 2024



Gail Emms MBE
Olympic Silver Medallist in
Mixed Doubles Badminton (Athens 2004)
Gold in Mixed Doubles World Championships (2006)

PROGRAMME

Welcome

Chairman of Governors

Sir David Tanner CBE

Headmaster

Mr Tyrone Howe

Presentation of Prizes announced by the Deputy Head Academic

Mr Paul Jones

Heads of College

Thomas Lebeau and Abigail Botterill

Guest Speaker

Gail Emms MBE

Deputy Heads of College

Montgomery Walker and Amelie Parker

Chorus

Blackbird, John Lennon & Paul McCartney

FORM PRIZES

Year 7 Rory Collar

Lyra Jones

Year 8 George Dallas

Oliver Thorpe

Year 9 Jacob Andrews

Joseph Pickering

Year 10 William Huckle

Charles Scott

Year 12 James Coe

Emily O'Neill

SHIPLAKE 7 PRIZES

Year 7 Max Brown

Polina Brown

Year 8 Danny Petrov

Saiveer Vedhara

Year 9 Charlie Cooper

Zachary Sanders

Year 10 Zachary Fisher

William Griffith

GCSE PRIZES

Art and Design Finn Baikie

Business James Man

English James Man

Computing Studies Zachary McConkey

Physical Education Zachary McConkey

Creative iMedia Joshua Hyde

Design and Technology Samuel Pickett

Drama Sam Gallagher

French George Blumfield

Science George Blumfield

Further Mathematics Zac Powell

Geography Sebastian Crehan-Mills

Spanish Sebastian Crehan-Mills

History Louis Kennedy

Mathematics Angus Mullens

Music Elliot Jones

Psychology Rory Campbell

Science (Dual Award) Charles Zhou

Theology and Philosophy Freddie Coultas

GCSE RESULTS PRIZE (2023)

Joshua Dawn

Rufus Goggins

GOVERNORS' PRIZES

Art and Design Sam Thornber

Media Sam Thornber

Biology Isobel Young

Sociology Isobel Young

Business Harry Saker

Montgomery Walker

Design and Technology Montgomery Walker

Chemistry Jack Duggan

Further Mathematics Jack Duggan

Computer Science Harrison Walton

Criminology Abigal Botterill

Drama Alec Veitch

Politics Alec Veitch

Economics Johannes Meiswinkel

Physics Johannes Meiswinkel

English Sabine Bathe-Taylor

Extended Project Qualification Emily Banks

Theology and Philosophy Emily Banks

Geography Amelie Parker

History Olivier Wrobel

Mathematics Aston Kimyani

Photography Zachary Wilson

Physical Education Dexter Elliott

Psychology Amelie Parker

Sport James Wojcik

SIXTH FORM PRIZE (2023) Martha Berry

Sylvan Verzone

SPECIAL AWARDS

Asclepian Award

For achievement in the visual arts

Darwin Award

For contribution to the life of the Lower School

Davies Award

For contribution to the sporting life of the College

Eaton Award

For academic development

Exemplum Docet Award

For academic endeavour beyond the classroom

Larkin Prize

For contribution to singing

J W Whittington Award

For the CCF cadet of the year

Lashbrook Award

For service to the community

Margaret Wells-Furby Award

For achievement in science (Year 12)

Rupert Mackay Award

For contribution to religious life

Salmon Award

For contribution to the performing arts

Spiers Award

For contribution to College music

Trotter Award

For international sports representation

Wagner Award

For endeavour shown in College expeditions

Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award

Freddie Stewart

Florian Jenkins

Ben Keown

Joe Cooper

Florence Lenthall

Benjamin Parrott

Isaac Powell

Luke Leamon

Noah Scotchbrook

Harrison Walton

James Hyman

William Bethell

Johannes Meiswinkel

Lara Vahlé

Noah Scotchbrook

Noah Scotchbrook

Emily Downing

William Harper

Callan Wallis

Maximilian Dag

Lily Cheek

Maximilian Dag

Harry Saker

Montgomery Walker

Georgina Wyndham-Smith

Benjamin Zacharias

SENIOR COMMON ROOM PRIZES

Voted for by the teachers of the Senior Common Room

Edinburgh Prize

For the non-school prefect who has contributed most

to the life of the College

Matthew Bevin Prize

For the most industrious Year 11 pupil

Peter Caston Prize

For the pupil who has shown notable determination and tenacity during the course of their College career

HEADMASTER'S AWARDS

Headmaster's Award

For contribution to the life of the College

Spirit of Shiplake Award

For upholding the core values of the College

Alexander Everett Award

For leadership in the College

Olivia Alexopoulos Benjamin Brooks

Samuel Chambers

Edward Houghton

Darcey Knight Alli Merritt **Emily Over**

Deputy Heads of College Amelie Parker

Montgomery Walker

Heads of College Abigail Botterill

Thomas Lebeau

Lara Vahlé

Charles Watkins

Joshua Greig-Bartram

Emily Over

Noah Scotchbrook

Emily Cheek

Maximilian Dag Dexter Elliott

Montgomery Walker

Georgina Wyndham-Smith

Jacky Zhang

Hugo Palmer-Garrett Noah Scotchbrook

Alec Veitch

Montgomery Wallace

Olivier Wrobel **Isobel Young** Jacky Zhang

Olivia Parkin